Sonny James - Young Love 1952-1962 (CD)

Save 38%
SKU: BCD16373

$ 123.08 $ 199.99


6-CD box (LP-size) with 68-page book, 147 tracks. Playing time approx. 358 mns

His complete recordings 1952-1962!

To many, the first ten years of Sonny James' recording career is summarized by a single hit: Young Love. That's not surprising, since relatively few of his early singles were anthologized on LP, much less on compact disc.

This boxed set corrects this oversight by presenting every surviving recording 'The Southern Gentleman' made between 1952 and 1962, across six compact discs. The first two discs feature Sonny James' rarely heard country sides, including the original I Forgot More Than You'll Ever Know and such chart singles as That's Me Without You, She Done Give Her Heart To Me, For Rent (One Empty Heart), Twenty Feet Of Muddy Water, and The Cat Came Back. The heart of the box set collects such teen pop sides as Young Love, You're The Reason I'm In Love, First Date, First Kiss, First Love, Uh-Huh-mm, You've Got That Touch, and Talk Of The School, plus all three of Sonny James' original Capitol albums. The set ends with the singer's often-overlooked NRC, RCA Victor and Dot sides, including Jenny Lou and his vocal version of the guitar standard, Apache.

For listeners who only know the singer through Young Love and his remarkable string of country hits through the sixties and seventies, Young Love reveals a warm, engaging performer who was more versatile than most of his fans realize. Produced with Sonny James' cooperation, this collection includes a 68-page book by Dave Samuelson covering Sonny James' early years on radio with the Loden Family through his 1963 return to Capitol Records.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • It's So Nice To Make Up
  • Believe Another's Lips
  • I Wish
  • Shortcut
  • That's Me Without You
  • Cold, Cold, Colder
  • Somebody Else's Heartache
  • The One I Can't Forget
  • I've Always Wanted You
  • I Forgot More Than You'll Ever Know
  • Poor Boy, Rich Lovin'
  • Won't Somebody Tell Me
  • My Greatest Thrill
  • The Table Next To Mine
  • That's How I Need You
  • This Kiss Must Last Forever
  • She Done Give Her Heart To Me
  • Oceans Of Tears (I've Shed For You)
  • til The Last Leaf Shall Fall
  • You Don't Have To Walk Alone
  • Christmas In My Hometown
  • I Forgot To Remember Santa Claus
Disc 2:
  • Deceive Me Once Again
  • Lovin' Season
  • Here I Go (Falling For You Again)
  • Ain't Gonna Take No Chance (On Losing You)
  • Let's Go Bunny-Huggin'
  • Pigtails And Ribbons
  • Too Much
  • Careless With My Heart
  • My Stolen Love
  • My God And I
  • May God Be With You
  • For Rent (One Empty Heart)
  • Twenty Feet Of Muddy Water
  • All Mixed Up
  • I'll Always Wonder (But I'll Never Know
  • Hello Old Broken Heart
  • Forgive Me
  • I Can't Stop Loving You
  • I Got The Feeling
  • Just Ask Your Heart
  • Can't Get Over Missin' You
  • The Cat Came Back
  • Only One Heart To Give
  • Cold, Cold Heart
  • Lonesome
  • In My Heart
  • Only A Shadow Between
  • I Wish I Knew
Disc 3:
  • Young Love
  • You're The Reason I'm In Love
  • First Date, First Kiss, First Love
  • Speak To Me
  • Actions Speak Louder Than Words
  • Baby You Melt My Heart
  • Dear Love
  • Lovesick Blues
  • Almost
  • Secret Love
  • Heartaches
  • How's The World Treating You
  • Beg Your Pardon
  • Because Of You
  • A Fool Such As I
  • Near You
  • Ages And Ages Ago
  • Just Out Of Reach (Of My Two Open Arms)
  • I'll Never Get Over You
  • A Mighty Lovable Man
  • (Love Came, Love Saw) Love Conquered
  • Uh-Huh-Mm
  • Climb Up The Ladder Of Love
  • Why Can't They Remember
Disc 4:
  • Walk To The Dance
  • Kathaleen
  • Are You Mine (& DARLA DARET)
  • Let's Play Love
  • I Can See It In Your Eyes
  • You Got That Touch
  • I'm Makin' Time With You
  • I Can't Stay Away From You
  • Let Me Be The One To Love You
  • Sweet Thing
  • Let's Make Up
  • Yo-Yo
  • Dream Big
  • You Don't Hurt Me Any More
  • Love Me Like I Am
  • Sweet Thing (remake)
  • Deed I Do
  • You're A Sweetheart
  • Sweetheart
  • You, You, You
  • Moments To Remember
  • Honey
  • If I Had A Talking Picture Of You
  • Honest And Truly
  • That's How Much I Love You
  • Goodnight Sweetheart
  • Over Somebody Else's Shoulder
  • I Love You So Much It Hurts
Disc 5:
  • Talk Of The School
  • This Love Of Mine
  • Pure Love
  • The Table
  • I'll Always Come Back To You
  • Who's Next In Line
  • Red Mud
  • Yes I Know
  • til Tomorrow
  • Passing Through
  • Jenny Lou
  • Gold In The Morning Sun
  • Wonderin'
  • I Wish This Night Would Never End
  • Bimbo
  • I'll Be There
  • Magnetism
  • Apache
  • Innocent Angel
  • Hey Little Ducky
  • Listen To My Heart
  • Broken Wings
Disc 6:
  • No Lana
  • The Day's Not Over Yet
  • Time's Running Backwards For Me
  • (The Legend Of) Brown Mountain Light
  • Dance Her By Me (One More Time)
  • A Mile And A Quarter
  • Just One More Lie
  • Shiloh
  • Lady Be Kind
  • Gotta Travel On
  • Wanderin'
  • Rollin' Stone
  • Sugar Cane Song
  • My Heart And The Pine
  • I Gave My Love A Cherry
  • On The Longest Day
  • The Only Cure

Additional Details

Label: Bear Family Records

Genre: Country

Run Time: 358 mins

Release Date: 01/02/07

UPC: 4000127163738

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed