Stan Kenton - The Stan Kenton Collection 1937-47 (CD)


$ 4.99


This is part of a mini-series on our competitively priced budget label Fabulous under the banner of Jazz Legends

This is part of a mini-series on our competitively priced budget label Fabulous under the banner of Jazz Legends, presenting some of great and influential names of jazz, with recordings drawn from the classic era of the genre's development between 1920 and 1950.
Stan Kenton was one of the most innovative band leaders of the swing era and beyond, developing what he called 'progressive jazz' in a concert orchestra format during a time when many big bands were failing. This collection traces the first decade of his recording career beginning with his days as a swing era pianist and his early days as a bandleader, leading through to the time when he really hit the big time in the late '40s.
As such it is a fascinating journey through the evolution of his compositions, and the increasing complexity and sophistication of his orchestra's arrangements to the point around 1947 where he had developed a truly radical and challenging approach to big band music.
Unlike many of the other artists in our jazz legends series, his work did not necessarily involve performing with other leading contemporaries within the genre, but his was a distinctive and single-minded strand of activity, and the collection makes for highly entertaining and enlightening listening.

Track Listing

    • So Rare
    • Etude For Saxophones
    • Reed Rapture
    • Gambler's Blues (St. James Infirmary)
    • Eager Beaver
    • Artistry In Rhythm (Production on Theme)
    • Five O'Clock Drag
    • And Her Tears Flowed Like Wine
    • Tampico
    • It's Been A Long Long Time
    • Artistry Jumps
    • Painted Rhythm
    • Shoo-Fly Pie & Apple Pan Dowdy
    • Intermission Riff
    • Concerto To End All Concertos
    • Opus In Pastels
    • His Feet Too Big For De Bed
    • Machito
    • Elegy For Alto
    • Peanut Vendor
    • Thermopolae
    • Introduction To A Latin Rhythm (Prologue Suite First Mvt.)
    • Harlem Holiday
    • Interlude

    Additional Details

    Label: Fabulous

    Genre: Jazz

    Language: English

    Run Time: 77 mins

    Region: 0

    Release Date: 10/01/13

    UPC: 824046035525

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed