Still Groove Jumping! (CD)

Save 38%
SKU: BCD17391

$ 11.69 $ 18.99


1-CD Digipak with 24-page booklet, 16 tracks. Total playing time approx. 40 minutes

16 red-hot R&B rockers from the archives of RCA Victor's mid-1950s Groove subsidiary. Originally reissued on classic 1987 vinyl set of the same name first out on Detour Records. Digipak follow-up to 'Groove Jumping!', also now available on CD from Bear Family. Two more stunners from guitar dazzler Roy Gaines and three more from Mr. Bear & His Bearcats are joined by guitarist Larry Dale and sax wailer Buddy Lucas and gems from certified blues legends Champion Jack Dupree, Arthur ''Big Boy'' Crudup, and Piano Red. Blues shouter Tiny Kennedy and the Du Droppers return from previous volume with more splendid sides.
Full discographical info and rare photos included. Includes Bez Turner's original liner notes and the same inviting cover artwork that distinguished the vinyl album.

Bob Jones, mastering engineer, record collector, label owner and Welsh eccentric died in 2009. The young Jones came to London and got a job as an engineer with Decca Records. After returning from Madrid where he had worked for a Spanish record company, Bob started working for Pye Records, mastering tapes for the newly formed Charly Records, Ace Records among others. He moved on to CTS Studios in Wembley, mastering releases for Bear Family Records a. o. and confirming his reputation for quality. RCA also utilized Bob's skills in mastering on numerous Elvis releases, including the first two volumes of 'The Essential Elvis', with his contribution acknowledged on the album sleeves.

After CTS, Bob was asked by Ace boss Ted Carroll to become a founding member of Sound Mastering. There he continued mastering product for Ace as well as various other specialist labels such as Rockstar, Bear Family and Magnum Force. A great fan of Elvis Presley and Duane Eddy, he was privileged to master product by both artists.
Read more at:

Track Listing

    • Gaines, Roy - Seven Come Eleven
    • Gaines, Roy - Right Now Baby
    • Dale, Larry - All My Life
    • Dale, Larry - Down To The Bottom
    • Dale, Larry - You Better Heed My Warning
    • Kennedy, Tiny - Midnight Hours
    • Mr Bear - Country Boy
    • Mr Bear & His Bearcats - Peek-A-Boo
    • Du-Droppers, The - The Bear Hug
    • Mr Bear & His Bearcats - Drink Up
    • Mr Bear & His Bearcats - Mr Bear Comes To Town
    • Piano Red - I'm Gonna Keep My Good Eye On You
    • Lucas, Buddy - Rockin' With Red
    • Dupree, Champion Jack - High Low Jack
    • Crudup, Arthur ‘Big Boy' - When I Got Married
    • Piano Red - She's Got No Hair
    • Piano Red - Jump Man Jump

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: R & B

    Run Time: 40 mins

    Release Date: 08/29/14

    UPC: 5397102173912

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed