Sweet Baboo - The Wreckage (LP)

Save 15%

$ 29.80 $ 34.99
Only 3 units left


Cradling an uncomplicated guitar, a man in trousers of artful proportion pours tender tales into your ear.

The singular voice of sensitive storytelling, occasionally surreal singer-songwriter, Sweet Baboo, also known as multi-instrumentalist musical polymath Stephen Black, returns to the cut, thrust and cacophony of the music world by announcing the release of his seventh studio album, The Wreckage.

Despite several years of contributing to the recorded and live pursuits of other musicians (among them Gruff Rhys and Cate Le Bon) -- as well as the release of two albums with Paul Jones under the duo's acid-ambient piano and clarinet project Group Listening --The Wreckage is Stephen Black's first output as Sweet Baboo since 2017.

Determined to reconcentrate his energies on his solo music and beholden only to himself, Black took a sledgehammer to the Sweet Baboo foundations; picked through the bricks; turned them over in his hands and mind, and mortared them back together in an unwieldier, more sculptural shape. Resultantly, The Wreckage is a work of quiet idiosyncrasy; surreal and sidelong observations unassumingly wrapped in the mist of a viscous voice and lush, otherworldly instrumentation.

Black took to StudiOwz, Clarbeston, Pembrokeshire, with a band of well-established collaborators (Paul Jones of Group Listening on various keys; Jodie Marie and Georgia Ruth on additional vocals; Davey Newington of Boy Azooga on drums and percussion, Huw Evans, aka H. Hawkline, on bass and electric guitar; Black's dog Herbie on woofs). Georgia Ruth contributed the lyrics to cinematic ballad 'The Waitress', which undulates like waves in a Spring tide, and Evans gifted the album 'Good Luck' -- bouncy riffs and xylophones bending around the magical potential of if condensed within a lottery ticket. The record was recorded, mixed, and arranged (jointly with the band) by the multiple-Mercury-award-nominated Jimmy Robertson, noted for his work with the likes of Arctic Monkeys, Anna Calvi, and Late of the Pier.

Track Listing

    • Hopeless
    • The Worry
    • Good Luck
    • Left Out the Door
    • Goodbye
    • Horticulture
    • The Waitress
    • Herbie
    • The Wreckage

    Additional Details


    Genre: Alternative/Punk

    Run Time: 34:00 mins

    Region: 0

    Release Date: 02/24/23

    UPC: 5053760096313

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed