Tennessee Ernie Ford - Collection 1949-61 (CD)


$ 16.99


Tennessee Ernie Ford was a radio DJ and singer in California in the post-war years

Tennessee Ernie Ford was a radio DJ and singer in California in the post-war years who signed to Capitol and over the next decade scored a string of 30 country and pop hits in the USA as well as becoming extremely popular in the UK, becoming a ubiquitous figure on American radio and TV over subsequent decades. He achieved three memorable country No. 1s in the USA with 'Mule Train', 'Shotgun Boogie' and the iconic 'Sixteen Tons' which was a pop No. 1 in both the USA and UK, as well as making the pop Top 3 on both sides of the Atlantic with 'The Ballad Of Davy Crockett'. This great value 58-track 2-CD set comprises all his charting A and B sides released from his 1951 debut through to 1962, by which time he had scored his last pop chart entry, along with most of his other A sides and selected B sides, and it brings together the boogie-flavoured material from his early years with the crossover hits from mid-decade and some of the later releases where he moved towards gospel styles, as well as his duets with top female artists like Kay Starr, Helen O'Connell, Betty Hutton and Ella Mae Morse. It's an excellent showcase for his distinctive voice as well as his the versatility which enabled him to span the breadth of country styles and achieve major international popularity

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Tennessee Border
  • Country Junction
  • Smokey Mountain Boogie
  • Blues Stay Away From Me (W/ Merle Travis)
  • Mule Train
  • Anticipation Blues
  • The Cry Of The Wild Goose
  • Feed 'Em In The Morning
  • Ain't Nobody's Business But My Own 
  • I'll Never Be Free 
  • Cincinnati Dancing Pig 
  • The Shotgun Boogie
  • Tailor Made Woman 
  • Stack-O-Lee
  • Ocean Of Tears 
  • You're My Sugar 
  • Mr. And Mississippi
  • The Strange Little Girl
  • Kentucky Waltz
  • Kissin' Bug Boogie
  • Hey Good Lookin' 
  • Cool Cool Kisses
  • Rock City Boogie 
  • Hambone
  • Everybody's Got Girl But Me
  • Snowshoe Thompson
  • Blackberry Boogie
  • The Tennessee Local
Disc 2:
  • False Hearted Girl
  • I Don't Know
  • Hey, Mr. Cotton Picker
  • Don't Start Courtin' In A Hot Rod Ford (W/ Molly Bee)
  • Kiss Me Big
  • Honeymoon's Over 
  • River Of No Return
  • Give Me Your Word
  • Ein Zwei Drei
  • Somebody Bigger Than You Or I
  • The Ballad Of Davy Crockett
  • His Hands
  • Sixteen Tons
  • You Don't Have To Be A Baby To Cry
  • That's All
  • Bright Lights And Blonde Haired Women
  • John Henry
  • Rovin' Gambler
  • Rock And Roll Boogie
  • First Born
  • Watermelon Song
  • One Suit
  • In The Middle Of An Island
  • Bless Your Pea Pickin' Heart
  • Sunday Barbeque
  • Glad Rags
  • Black-Eyed Susie
  • Sunny Side Of Heaven
  • O Mary Don't You Weep
  • Dark As A Dungeon

Additional Details

Label: Acrobat

Genre: Pop/Rock

Language: English

Run Time: 145 mins

Region: 0

Release Date: 11/13/15

UPC: 824046314224

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed