Texas Hillbilly (CD)

Save 15%

$ 10.20 $ 11.99


A further tribute to one of America's great small labels that has sadly disappeared into corporate oblivion. Our previous compilation from the long defunct Macy's label concentrated on their R&B releases but now we revisit their Country and Hillbilly output. Based in Texas, the label concentrated mainly on local acts that performed on radio and constantly toured the local area. For these artists records were mainly a calling card to get future gigs, and very few of these artists had long-term recording careers. One exception of course is Jim Reeves whose very first 1949 recordings are featured on this superb collection. This album is not only a great tribute to a much loved label but also an historical document and a very enjoyable selection of early country and hillbilly music that will delight any collector.

Track Listing

    • Woody Carter & His Hoedown Boys - Sittin' On The Doorstep
    • Woody Carter & His Hoedown Boys - Who's Gonna Chop My Baby's Firewood
    • Claude Ham & His Radio Playboys - That's All I'm Through
    • Tommy Dover & His Texas Rhythm Boys - I Love You Because
    • Art Gunn & His Arizona Playboys - Cornbread Boogie
    • Tommy Dover & His Texas Rhythm Boys - Blue Over You
    • Raley Brothers & Woody Carter - Hoedown Breakdown
    • Barney Varderman & His Drifting Texans - I'm Finding A New Heart
    • The Bar X Cowboys - Fair Weather Friend
    • Jim Reeves - My Heart's Like A Welcome Mat
    • Jim Reeves - Tear Drops of Regret
    • Ramblin' Tommy Scott - Tennessee
    • Laverl Carrico & The Angelina Pals - Too Many Women Too Much Beer
    • Sonny Hall & His Moonshiners - Just A Little Bit More
    • Art Gunn & His Arizona Playboys - Boogie Woogie Blues
    • Harry Choates & His Fiddle - Catn' Around
    • Morris Mills & The Rithumakers - I'd Like To Slip Around
    • Bob Greene & His Filling Station Swing Band - Somebody Stole My Rag Mop
    • Jim Reeves - Chicken Hearted
    • Jim Reeves - I've Never Been So Blue
    • Harry Choates & His Fiddle - Korea Here We Come
    • Cousin Bob Rodgers - Lonesome Freight Train Blues
    • Vance Brothers - Draftboard Blues
    • Curly Rash & His South Texas Playboys - Humble Road Blues
    • Ramblin' Tommy Scott - When A Man Gets The Blues

    Additional Details

    Label: Acrobat

    Genre: Country

    Release Date: 11/08/11

    UPC: 824046512521

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed