The Residents - The 12 Days Of Brumalia (CD)

Save 47%

$ 6.94 $ 12.99


Okay, so the Residents made an online party and called it the 12 Days of Brumalia

Brumalia was a month-long party the ancient Romans threw at the end of the year. It was a kind of New Years Eve that didn't stop at midnight. Instead, it stopped on December 25th. This went on until 600-700 c.e., it's hard to know exactly. The Catholic church had set up a date they liked for the observance of the birth of Jesus. That date was January 6th. The problem was that the Brumalia party folks cast a bit of a pall over the approaching birthday of Jesus, as it occurred just a few days earlier.

The Catholic solution was to move Jesus' birthday to December 25th, and pretend that everyone was celebrating Jesus rather than what they were actually celebrating. Fine, but they had to deal with the fact that January 6th was already set up as the correct date. Therefore, they invented the 12 Days of Christmas that lead up to January 6th. The explanation was something like, Jesus was born on December 25th but it wasn't until January 6th that people realized maybe he was more than just another human. So both dates became kind of an event.

Okay, so the Residents made an online party and called it the 12 Days of Brumalia, a thin joke stealing the Christian '12 days' back for the Pagans. Settling the score, if anyone had noticed or cared. So, every day for 12 days starting December 25th, The Residents gave away a song on the internet.

You also get an Epiphany tune, which is the one for January 6th celebrating Jesus being a god and not a human. You also get a single version of one of the Brumalia songs pumped up for radio.

As if that isn't enough, you also get 'Prelude to the Teds.' The Residents were working on a story about two guys named Ted who were very dependent on each other. I mean, really dependent. They never finished the project but they did release these four songs through the They Might Be Giants HELLO record club.

All in all, you get 18 tunes recorded between 1993 and 2003.

Track Listing

    • Day 1
    • Day 2
    • Day 3
    • Day 4
    • Day 5
    • Day 6
    • Day 7
    • Day 8
    • Day 9
    • Day 10
    • Day 11
    • Day 12
    • The Feast of Epiphany
    • Teddy
    • I Tried to Cry
    • The Cry of the Crow
    • Struggle
    • Boneless Boy

    Additional Details

    Label: Cryptic Corp

    Genre: Alternative/Punk

    Language: English

    Run Time: 55 mins

    Region: 0

    Release Date: 11/04/14

    UPC: 760137661122

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed