Tompall Glaser - Another Log On The Fire / Hillbilly Central #2 (CD)

Save 38%
SKU: BCD16520

$ 11.69 $ 18.99


1-CD with 40-page booklet, 24 tracks, Playing time 76:59 mns

Tompall Glaser is the forgotten outlaw. Everyone remembers Willie and Waylon, but Tompall Glaser made records every bit as good as theirs, and helped developed the classic 'Outlaw' sound in his famous... and infamous... Hillbilly Central studio, where the window shutters were always closed and the door was always open.

Bear Family has already released Tompall Glaser's ABC recordings 'The Outlaw' and the previously unissued 'The Rogue' and now we've reissued his four MGM/Polydor LPs on two CDs. All of his biggest hits are on these CDs, including Charlie, T For Texas, and of course Put Another Log On The Fire, which was one of the highlights of the classic 'Wanted: The Outlaws' LP.

Tompall Glaser didn't score as many hits as Waylon 'n' Willie, but the dry insolence in his voice and the understated backings made up the sound that Waylon, Willie, David Allan Coe, and the others adopted. It was the classic 1970s outlaw sound. Tompall Glaser not only composed some great songs, but had an unfailing ear for other great songwriters. He and his brothers gave a break to Kinky Friedman, who in turn also produced a couple of songs on this CD. There are great songs from Billy Joe Shaver, and, of course, Shel Silverstein. There's a complete LP of Silverstein's songs included within 'Another Log On The Fire,' and several other Silverstein classics on both CDs.

These two CDs also include an LP, 'Take The Singer With The Song,' released only in England, as well as bonus tracks and definitive liner notes based on recent interviews with the track listing.

Track Listing

    • I Ain't Lookin' For The Answers Anymore
    • Roll On
    • Mendocino
    • Country Gospel Good Book Rock 'n' Roll
    • Put Another Log On The Fire
    • Musical Chairs
    • Grab A Hold
    • Echoes
    • Old New Orleans Custom
    • If I'm There
    • Oleander
    • The Wild Side Of Life
    • We Live In Two Different Worlds
    • I Can't Remember
    • When It Goes, It's Gone Girl
    • The Hunger
    • Time Changes Everything
    • If I'd Only Come And Gone
    • Good Hearted Woman
    • West Canterbury Subdivision Blues
    • Tompall In 'D' On The Ukulele
    • Broken Down Mama (Polydor)
    • Loving You Again
    • T For Texas

    Additional Details

    Label: Bear Family Records

    Genre: Country

    Run Time: 76 mins

    Release Date: 01/02/07

    UPC: 4000127165206

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed