Tower - Shock To The System (LP)

Save 15%

$ 25.50 $ 29.99


Ten songs of high-energy, classic metal with '70s rock attitude from the streets of New York City!

Unexpected disruption. Challenge. Paralyzing chaos and confusion. A reality check. These words all run the gamut of what the world had experienced since the beginning of the pandemic in March 2020. They also serve as the inspiration for Shock to the System, the second full-length album from New York City classic metallers Tower.
Tower was halfway finished with writing Shock to the System when the pandemic hit. It forced the band (comprised of vocalist Sarabeth Linden, the guitar tandem of James Danzo and Zak Penley, and drummer James Jones) to find creative ways to complete the album's ten cuts. For a band accustomed to regular rehearsals and live appearances, the ensuing lockdown enabled them to get together only once before heading into Artifact Audio in Ridgewood, New York with producer/engineer Sasha Stroud this past May and June. However, the less-than-ideal situation helped spawn an album of immediacy and energy.
The freewheeling nature of the writing and recording process helped give rise to several firsts for Tower. While their trademark vintage metal-on-'70s rock sound is still dominant, elements like thrash and doom have entered the equation (one such song had the working title of 'Skynyrd Sabbath'), not to mention some ultra-catchy pop hooks for 'On the Line' to the point where Tower decided to omit a guitar solo -- yet another first. Elsewhere, 'In Dreams' features quiet experimentation in a song that nearly reaches the seven-minute mark, showcasing even more diversity.
Lyrically, Shock to the System tackles political themes, personal loss and the volatility of relationships and life in general.
And while the outside world continues to rear its ugly head and unending grimness, there is only one thing left to do -- put on Shock to the System and turn it up to 11!


Cast & Crew


Track Listing

    • Blood Moon
    • Prince of Darkness
    • Metatron
    • Running Out Of Time
    • Lay Down The Law
    • Hired Gun
    • Black Rose
    • On The Line
    • In Dreams
    • Powder Keg

    Additional Details

    Label: CRUZ DEL SUR

    Genre: Metal

    Language: English

    Run Time: 39:00 mins

    Region: 0

    Release Date: 03/18/22

    UPC: 8032622216042

    Payment & Security

    American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

    Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

    Estimate shipping

    U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

    Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

    You may also like

    Recently viewed