Troubadours: Folk And The Roots Of American Music Vol.2 (CD)

Save 38%
SKU: BCD17402

$ 24.62 $ 39.99


Another CD-album from the Bear Family Records - Roots & Folk Music - Troubadours - Folk And The Roots Of American Music

In the one hundred years that folk music has been recorded in the United States, the tradition has embraced ballads - mostly new, but some transplanted from Europe, political statements, personal introspection, and much more. Now the story is here from the 1920s to the 1970s and beyond in four exclusive 3-CD sets. Through this music, we feel it all from the isolation of early twentieth century Appalachia through the economic and political upheavals of the Depression, War, and Civil Rights eras to contemporary west coast singer-songwriters looking within for inspiration. The story is here: original artists and original versions in stunning sound with detailed notes from folk scholar Dave Samuelson.

The second set begins with the folk revival that started in the wake of the Kingston Trio's Tom Dooley and continues through the dawn of the singer-songwriter era. It includes early folk revival classics like Walk Right In, Michael, and Green, Green. The second disc begins with Bob Dylan's game-changing classics, Blowing In The Wind, Don't Think Twice, It's All Right, A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall, Masters Of War, Mr. Tambourine Man, and The Times They Are A-Changin'. It was the Civil Rights era and the Vietnam era, so the music took on contemporary issues. In Dylan's wake came Phil Ochs, Tom Paxton, Tim Hardin, Fred Neil, and many others, all of them represented by their finest work.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Kingston Trio - Those Brown Eyes
  • Kingston Trio - Tom Dooley
  • Kingston Trio - Scotch And Soda
  • Kingston Trio - The MTA
  • Kingston Trio - A Worried Man
  • Kingston Trio - The New Frontier
  • Kingston Trio - Run The Ridges
  • Kingston Trio - If You Don't Look Around
  • Journeymen - Soft Blow The Summer Winds
  • Journeymen - Hush Now Sally
  • Journeymen - Ride, Ride, Ride
  • Journeymen - Someone To Talk My Troubles To
  • Limeliters - A Dollar Down
  • Limeliters - Those Were The Days
  • Limeliters - Adios Mi Corazon (Spanish Is The Loving Tongue)
  • Chad Mitchell Trio - Dubarry Done Gone Again
  • Chad Mitchell Trio - The Marvelous Toy
  • Chad Mitchell Trio - One Man's Hands
  • Chad Mitchell Trio - That's The Way It's Gonna Be
  • Chad Mitchell Trio - Leaving On A Jet Plane
  • Bud & Travis - South Wind
  • Bud & Travis - Cloudy Summer Afternoon
  • Highwaymen - Michael
  • Highwaymen - Cotton Fields
  • Rooftop Singers - Walk Right In
  • Rooftop Singers - Tom Cat
  • New Christy Minstrels - Green Green
  • New Christy Minstrels - Today
Disc 2:
  • Bob Dylan - Blowing In The Wind
  • Bob Dylan - Don't Think Twice, It's All Right
  • Bob Dylan - Hard Rain's Gonna Fall
  • Bob Dylan - Masters Of War
  • Bob Dylan - The Times They Are A-Changin'
  • Bob Dylan - Mr Tambourine Man
  • Phil Ochs - There But For Fortune
  • Phil Ochs - Power And The Glory
  • Phil Ochs - I Ain't Marching Anymore
  • Phil Ochs - Draft Dodger Rag
  • Phil Ochs - Changes
  • Phil Ochs - When I'm Gone
  • Tom Paxton - Ramblin' Boy
  • Tom Paxton - I Can't Help But Wonder Where I'm Bound
  • Tom Paxton - The Last Thing On My Mind
  • Tom Paxton - What Did You Learn In School Today'
  • Tom Paxton - Ain't That News
  • Tom Paxton - Bottle Of Wine
  • Eric Andersen - Dusty Box Car Wall
  • Eric Andersen - Violets Of Dawn
  • Eric Andersen - Close The Door Lightly When You Go
  • Eric Andersen - Thirsty Boots
Disc 3:
  • Tarriers - Seven Daffodils
  • Dave Van Ronk - Cocaine Blues
  • Dave Van Ronk - Come Back Baby
  • Dave Van Ronk - Bad Dream Blues
  • Judy Collins - Anathea
  • Judy Collins - Hey Nellie Nellie
  • Judy Collins - Carry It On
  • Peter Lafarge - The Ballad Of Ira Hayes
  • Peter Lafarge - As Long As The Grass Shall Grow
  • Greenbriar Boys - Stewball
  • Greenbriar Boys - Different Drum
  • Patrick Sky - Many A Mile
  • Tim Hardin - Reason To Believe
  • Tim Hardin - If I Were A Carpenter
  • Tim Hardin - The Lady Came From Baltimore
  • Fred Neil - The Other Side Of Life
  • Fred Neil - Blues On The Ceiling
  • Fred Neil - Little Bit Of Rain
  • Fred Neil - The Dolphins
  • Fred Neil - Everybody's Talkin'
  • David Blue - Grand Hotel

Additional Details

Label: Bear Family Records

Genre: Folk

Run Time: 221 mins

Release Date: 07/25/14

UPC: 5397102174025

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

U.S. orders are shipped by either USPS or FedEx, depending on size, weight and destination. You will be provided with a tracking number once your order has shipped. Delivery time is usually 2-8 business days from the date of shipment.

Most international orders are shipped by FedEx International MailService and delivery is typically made by your country's postal service. This method of shipment comes with a tracking number and the delivery time is usually 2-8 weeks from the date of shipment.

You may also like

Recently viewed